Broker Check

Blog

 
 

Monday, October 30, 2017

The economy is strong. The US has enjoyed two quarters in a row of 3% or better growth, even with the disruption caused by the hurricanes. Earnings for the S&P 500 for 2017 will increase at a double digit rate for the first time since...

 

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Shortage of Stocks? As an economist, I know there is no such thing as a “shortage” of stocks. Demand always matches supply. But, the trick of course is figuring out what is the future demand and supply, and at what price...

 

Thursday, September 21, 2017

What To Do After A Major Credit Data Breach – Consumer Awareness Be Proactive: Request A Copy Of Your Credit Report Now Consider Freezing Your Credit: Only If You’re Not Applying For Credit Soon Subscribe To A Credit...

 

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

The Guide covers a broad variety of topics, such as how to file flood claims, renters’ rights, how to replace your passport and/or credit cards that may have been lost or damaged in the storm, information about schools and about...

 

Friday, September 1, 2017

The Lost Week It began to rain last Friday, August 25, in the late afternoon. It was a good, solid rain - not really a thunderstorm - just sheets and sheets of water coming down from the darkened skies. It finally stopped Tuesday...

 

Show All

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

HOWARD MARKS Howard Marks is one of my heroes in the investment management business. He is the leader of Oaktree Capital, a firm based in Los Angeles that manages some $100 billion for large institutional investors. It is largely a...

 

Thursday, July 6, 2017

Mutual Funds vs. ETFs

 

Saturday, July 1, 2017

As our nation approaches the anniversary of its independence, I thought it would be good to reflect on the blessings of being an American.It is very easy for us to think about what is wrong with America. Everyday we are bombarded with...

 

Thursday, June 29, 2017

WHAT'S NEW?

 

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Whether they are just born, or are steadily advancing through the elementary grades, it is never too early to start thinking about college for your children.  A college degree is a very prestigious achievement that will account for a l

 

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Caney Creek Report - Valuation - the Hardest Thing

 

Monday, June 5, 2017

Facebook LinkedInMeet Our New Interns We are excited to welcome our two new interns to the teamPeriPeri is currently enrolled as a student at St. Edwards University in Austin, TX. She just...

 

Monday, March 20, 2017

A new survey finds that baby boomers are some of the most motivated members of the workforce today.

 

Monday, March 6, 2017

A new study finds that older job hunters are less likely to be forced into “old-person jobs” these days.

 

Monday, February 20, 2017

Baby boomers should steer clear of these six missteps to boost their chances of a secure retirement.

 

Monday, February 6, 2017

Retirement success depends on spending as much as—or less than—you withdraw each month. Here’s how to nail the balance.

 

Monday, January 16, 2017

Thanks to new rules, reverse mortgages—long seen as loans of last resort—are proving popular with cash-strapped retirees.

 

Thursday, January 5, 2017

Baby boomers are hitting retirement age at an excellent time for stocks, and it’s leaving many with more money than they know what to do with.

 

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

For many boomers, retired life is marked by four distinct phases.

 

Monday, December 5, 2016

These four retirement facts might surprise baby boomers—and can help them better prepare for their non-working years.

 

Monday, November 21, 2016

Retirement concerns have baby boomer women holding on to their jobs for longer than they planned.

 

Monday, November 7, 2016

It’s often said that boomers should wait as long as possible before claiming Social Security benefits. Here’s why.

 

Monday, October 17, 2016

A new study finds that Baby Boomers are less confident than ever about their financial prospects in retirement.

 

Monday, October 3, 2016

Planning your retirement expenses can be a challenge, especially when it comes to these five costs. Here's what boomers should expect.

 

Monday, September 19, 2016

Various studies have uncovered unique challenges and opportunities facing retiring Baby Boomers. Here's what they should know.

 

Monday, September 5, 2016

Thousands of Baby Boomers reach retirement age every day, though many aren't leaving the workforce. Yet.

 

Thursday, August 18, 2016

Prepare for Implementation of Proposed 2704 Regulations

 

Monday, August 15, 2016

Baby Boomers are changing the face of retirement. These five trends explain why.

 

Monday, August 1, 2016

Staying in your job for just a year longer can benefit your retirement savings in more ways than one.

 

Monday, July 18, 2016

Longevity and financial necessity will keep many Baby Boomers working past traditional retirement age.

 

Monday, July 4, 2016

A new study finds that most Baby Boomers expect to work longer and save more during retirement, rather than retire.

 

Monday, June 20, 2016

Many Baby Boomers plan to keep working after traditional retirement age, but they might be headed for a reality check.

 

Monday, June 6, 2016

Baby Boomers share several anxieties when it comes to preparing for retirement, but proper planning can help get rid of them.

 

Tuesday, May 31, 2016

A recent study found that many baby boomers lack knowledge about Social Security benefits, which could cost them in the long run. To get the most out of their benefits, boomers should make sure they’re not making any of these Social S

 

Monday, May 2, 2016

Many baby boomers have left retirement accounts with previous employers over the years. Consolidating those accounts before retirement can pay off in big ways.

 

Wednesday, April 20, 2016

With the upcoming PGA Insperity Golf Tournament in The Woodlands, we thought you might enjoy this video.

 

Monday, April 18, 2016

It’s 2016, but the financial crisis of 2008 is still top of mind for many baby boomers—and it’s impacting their saving and investing habits. A new study finds that a significant number of boomers experienced economic trauma following the c

 

Monday, April 4, 2016

The Great Recession may have ended years ago, but many boomers are still supporting aging parents, adult children or both—and it’s negatively impacting their financial standing. Despite the reduced financial security, though, few boomers ha

 

Monday, March 21, 2016

Retirees hoping for higher Social Security benefits shouldn’t hold their breath: there likely won’t be a cost-of-living increase in 2016. For many, putting a financial plan in place may be necessary to help stretch Social Security dollars f

 

Monday, March 7, 2016

According to a recent Insured Retirement Institute survey, only 6 in 10 boomers report having any retirement savings, and just 27 percent are confident they will have enough money to last through retirement. Better retirement education effo

 

Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Are you earning more than 2.50% -3.00% Guaranteed?